About Us

Civil Engineering in UKM

The career in Civil Engineering is associated with the development of various facilities that shapes and protects human lives and the surrounding. A Civil Engineer is responsible to plan, design, build and maintain buildings, roads, dams, water supply, airports, seaports, and various other facilities.

The total number of students (including postgraduates) has reached more than 400. There are professional engineers and many experienced lecturers who are actively involved in research, publication, innovation and invention, consultancy, public services, and having close links with the industries. The department also provides laboratory-testing services in all fields of Civil Engineering.


The department of Civil and Structural Engineering, which was officially established in 1984 is one of the departments under the Faculty of Engineering, UKM. The department began with 4 tutors, namely Ramli Mat Suki, Amirul Faizi Wahab, Kamal Nasharudin Mustapha and Wan Hamidon Wan Badaruzzaman. The first group of 25 students registered for the 1985/ 86 academic session.


The department provides various facilities for its undergraduate and postgraduate studies. It takes in between 7 to 12 semesters to complete the undergraduate bachelor’s programme. For the postgraduate programmes, the masters by research programme requires in between 2 to 6 semesters (full time) or 4 to 10 semesters (part time), whilst the masters by course programme requires in between 2 to 4 semesters (full time) or 2 to 6 semesters (part time) to complete. On the other hand, students enrolling for the PhD programme are required to spend in between 6 to 12 semesters (full time) or 8 to 14 semesters (part time) to complete their studies.

List Of Head Department

Name Term
Dr. Ramli Mohamad 15 November 1985 – 14 November 1989
Prof. Dr. Kamarudin Mohd Yusof 15 November 1989 – 14 November 1991
Dr. Ramli Mat Suki 15 November 1991- 27 June 1992
Ir. Aziz Mustafa 28 June 1992 – 14 August 1992
Prof. Dr. Kamarudin Mohd Yusof 15 August 1992 – 14 August 1996
Prof. Dato. Ir. Dr. Hassan Basri 15 August 1996 – 31 June 2000
Prof. Dr. Mohd. Raihan Taha 1 July 2000 – 28 February 2002
Prof. Dato Ir. Dr. Wan Hamidon Wan Badaruzzaman 1 February 2002- 31 January 2005
Prof. Dato Ir. Dr. Riza Atiq O.K. Rahmat 1 February 2005 – 15 July 2007
Prof. Ir. Dr. Zamri Chik 16 July 2007 – 15 July 2010
Prof. Dr. Mohd. Raihan Taha 16 July 2010 – 9 February 2014
Assoc. Prof. Ir. Dr. Othman Jaafar  1 April – 31 Disember 2015
Prof. Dr. Noor Ezlin Ahmad Basri 15 January 2016 – Present