Fakulti Farmasi | Faculty of Pharmacy, UKM

 Menerajui Farmasi Untuk Kesihatan | Advancing Pharmacy For Health

Faculty of Pharmacy, UKM

Advancing Pharmacy for Health

Professor Ian Chi Kei Wong

Distinguished Professor, Faculty of Pharmacy, UKM

Distinguished Professorship is an initiative of the UKM to develop research capacity at UKM. Distinguished professors are international leading researchers in their own fields. Distinguished professor in pharmacy has regular on-line meetings with young researchers at the Faculty of Pharmacy and academic visits to nurture the next generation of pharmacy research leaders.

Professor Ian Wong graduated with Bachelor of Science (Honours) in Pharmacy from School of Pharmacy, University of Sunderland, England in 1991 and Doctorate from the School of Medicine, University of Manchester, in 1997. Currently, Prof. Ian Wong holds a joint-appointment as a Chair Professor of Pharmacy Practice at School of Pharmacy, University College of London (UCL) and Lo Shiu Kwan Kan Po Ling Endowed Professorship in Pharmacy at Hong Kong University (HKU). He is currently a visiting professor of King’s College London, University of Manchester and University of Auckland.

He is an academic pharmacist with over 450 publications in pharmacoepidemiology and big data research. He was ranked in the top 1% of scholars in Clarivate Analytics’ Essential Science Indicators for seven years in a row, between 2015 and 2021. He has successfully supervised more than 30 PhD students. He also received over £8 million in research fundings as the principal investigator and nearly £200 million as a co-investigator in Europe and Hong Kong. He founded a UCL spin-off company that developed three licensed prescription-only medicines in Europe, and he also serves as an Independent Non-Executive Director at Jacobson Medical (a publicly listed company). He has served as a consultant to the World Health Organisation (WHO), the European Medicines Agency, and the Departments of Health in England and Hong Kong.

Prof. Ian Wong has been actively involved in the pharmacy field for almost 30 years, to date. He has won many prestigious awards such as Chemist and Druggist Pharmacy Practice Research Conference Model by Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain in 2004, National Public Health Career Scientist Award by the Department of Health in 2002, and John M Harrison Award (Travel) by the College of Pharmacy Practice in 1999. He has also received fellowships and honorary fellowships from various esteemed academic and professional bodies such as British Pharmacological Society, International Society of Pharmacovigilance, College of Pharmacy Practice of Hong Kong, Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, Faculty of Public Health, Royal Colleges of Physicians of the United Kingdom and Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health.