Prof. Dr. Khairul Anwar @ Johari Bin Mastor

Personality Psychology Expert
  • Jabatan / Department :
    Pusat Citra Universiti (Citra UKM)

Biografi / Biography

Dr Khairul has been a Professor in Personality Psychology at the Center for Liberal Studies, UKM and Associate Senior Research Fellow at Institute of Islam Hadhari, UKM since December 2009. He graduated with Bachelor, Master and PhD degrees from UKM, George Washington University, Washington DC, USA and The University of New South Wales, Australia respectively. He teaches courses like Ethnic Relations, Personality & Life and & Emotion Management at UKM. His areas of research are in personality structure and process, Lexical study of personality, personality and religiosity assessment & development and psychology of religion. To date, he had successfully supervised 20 PhDs and 4 Masters and currently supervising more than 10 graduate students from different faculties. He has published 54 articles in refereed/indexed journals, including some in high impact journals and 4 books. He received grants from MOE Malaysia and also (as a co-researcher) from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Oregon Research Institute, and the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), USA. He was a visiting scholars at Washington State University, Pullman, USA, Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany, and Laboratory of Personality and Cognition, NIA, NIH. In 2008, he received a Fulbright Scholarship to serve as a Fulbright visiting scholar at the Department of Psychology, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Illinois, USA. He served as Visiting Professor at the Institute for Psychology, University of Lausanne, Switzerland (2010) and Department of Psychology, University of Oregon, USA(2015). He received several research and service awards in teaching and research: UKM Highly Cited Publication for Social Science (2010), UKM Best Researcher Award (2008), Fellowship for Advanced Research Award (MOSTI, 2007), Professional Service Award (NIA, NIH, 2007), William J. Fulbright Scholarship Award (2008) and UKM Excellent Service Award (2005).