



UKM-YSD CHAIR FOR SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT

FINAL REPORT ZERO WASTE TECHNOLOGY PROGRAM 2010-2020

Forging Mutually Beneficial Partnership

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1.0	INTRODUCTION	3
2.0	CHAIRHOLDER AND CO-CHAIRHOLDER	5
3.0	FINANCIAL REPORT	6
4.0	LIST OF KNOWLEDGE DISSEMINATION ACTIVITIES	9
5.0	LIST OF RESEARCH PUBLICATIONS	16
6.0	CAPACITY BUILDING: LIST OF UKM-YSD'S ALUMNI	42
7.0	LIST OF EXCHANGE PROGRAM	56
8.0	LIST OF RESEARCH COLLABORATIONS	58
9.0	LIST OF AWARDS AND RECOGNITION	66
10.0	LIST OF MEDIA REPORTS	79
11.0	TECHNOLOGY READY FOR COMMERCIALIZATION	78

8.0 LIST OF COLLABORATIONS

Name	Country	Description
FCU	Taiwan	 MoU between UKM and FCU has begun back in 2013 and the agreement has been extended until 2023 through an agreement signed on 14 December 2017. activities that include exchange students and academicians, joint publications and application of international fund. UKM-YSD chair holder Prof Shu-Yii Wu, was assigned in 2015

Table 8.1 List of international, local universities, research institutions and industries collaborators

FBR Food and Biobased Research, Wageningen	Netherland	 a. To spearhead and coordinate R&D specifically in biohydrogen and to assist in the integration of process chain towards zero waste in oil mill; b. To assist soliciting R&D funds related to the Chair's objectives; c. To identify appropriate collaborators/researchers to expand R&D c91laborations; d. To assist publication in high impact journals while stimulating the protection of IP generated from the R&D activities; e. To deliver invited lectures and present papers in seminars on subjects related to the areas of expertise; f. To promote the Chair internationally.
Northwest Minzu University (NWMU)	China	UKM and NWMU signed a Letter of Intent (LoI) in January 2017, as an initiative to empower academic collaboration between two countries.

Kyushu Institute of Technology (KIT)	Japan	Sakura Exchange Program
Universitas Sumatera Utara (USU)	Indonesia	MOU Exchange program
Politeknik Kampar	Indonesia	LOI
Universitas Sebelas Maret (UNS)	Indonesia	Visiting Professor
UNIS UNIVERSITAS SEBELAS MARET		

Thailand Institute of Scientific and Technology Research (TISTR)	Thailand	This MOU aims to continue and expand research activities between the both two institutes, in the areas of renewable energy technology, focusing on bio-refinery, bio-fuel and bio-chemical production, environmental application of microalgae and climate change. Apart from research collaboration, this MOU also facilitate and support research activities of ASEAN Network Excellent Center of Biomass Conversion Technology (ANEC), the international collaboration platform supported by ASEAN Committee on Science, Technology and Innovation (COSTI).
Faculty of Technology, Khon Kaen University (KKU)	Thailand	MOU Exchange Program
Mahidol University	Thailand	Visiting Researcher

Thaksin University	Thailand	Exchange Student
ALL THANKING RAL THANKING		Visiting Researcher
National University of Science and Technology (NUST)	Pakistan	Exchange Student
THUR THE AND T		
Michigan State University (MSU)	USA	Visiting Researcher
Founded BSS VERS		Exchange Student
Lembaga Ilmu Pengetahuan Indonesia (LIPI)	Indonesia	Visiting Researcher
LEMBAGA ILMU PENGETAHUAN INDONESIA		

Indonesian Oil Palm Research Institute (IOPRI)	Indonesia	Research Collaboration
NAXA XXXX		
Ikhlas Resmi (M) Sdn Bhd	Malaysia	Research Collaboration
Process Equipment and Water Treatment Expert		
Academic Research on Palm Oil Sustainability (ARPOS)	Malaysia	Steering Committee
THE POINT OF THE P		
Malaysian Palm Oil Board (MPOB)	Malaysia	Research Collaboration
мров		

APEC-ACABT	Malaysia	Steering Committee
APEC Research Center for Advanced Biohydrogen Technology (ACABT)		
National: University		
UPNM	Malaysia	Research Collaboration
		Internship Program
Uitm	Malaysia	Research Collaboration
		Internship Program
UTP	Malaysia	Research Collaboration
RAD A		
UTM	Malaysia	Research Collaboration
UNMC	Malaysia	Research Collaboration

1 C		
UMP	Malaysia	Research Collaboration
USM	Malaysia	Research Collaboration

9.0 LIST OF AWARDS & RECOGNITION

Table 9.1 Awards and recognition received by Prof. Dato' Ir. Dr. Abdul Wahab Mohammad

Year	Name
2014	Elected as Fellow Academy Science Malaysia 2014
2015	Awarded Malaysia Toray Science Foundation Award 2015
2016	Awarded Royal Society International Collaboration Awards for Research Professors 2016
2018	Elected as Senior Research Director of Qatar Environment and Energy Research Institute (QEERI), Hamad bin Khalifah University, Qatar
2018	Awarded Hot Review Paper 2018 in Jurnal CREAM (Current Research in Malaysia) 2018
2019	Awarded Malaysia's Research Star 2019 for Hot Review Paper category

Table 9.2 Awards received by Prof. Ir. Dr. Mohd Sobri Takriff

Year	Name
2015	Awarded Top Research Scientist, Akademi Sains Malaysia
2017	Awarded Anugerah Bitara UKM 2017

Table 9.3 Award received by Prof. Ir. Dr. Zahira Yaakob

Year	Name
2016	Awards by Elsevier, Woman in Science Award

Table 9.4 Recognition received by Prof. Dr. Jamaliah Md Jahim

Year	Name
2018 -	Chairholder APEC-ACABT, Malaysia Chapter
Present	

Table 9.5 Awards received by Dr Teow Yeit Haan

Year	Name
2017	Awarded Best Young Scientist Oral Presentation Award, The 10th CESE Conference - International Conference in Challenges in Environmental Science & Engineering
2017	Awarded Geran Saintis Muda American Chemical Society (ACS), Imperatives Global (Gii) 2017

2017	Awarded Gold Medal, Invention, Innovation & Design Exposition 2017 (IIDEX 2017)
2019	Awarded 1 st Runner Up for Top Glove Industrial Collaboration Grant
2019	Awarded Anugerah Bitara Penerbitan Makalah Jurnal for Year 2019
2019	Awarded Green Initiave Recognition 2019 from Waste Management Association of Malaysia (WMAM)

Table 9.6 Awards and recognition received by Dr Peer Mohamed

Year	Name
2018 -	Co-Chairholder APEC-ACABT, Malaysia Chapter
Present	
2016	Excellence Thesis Award, Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment
2016	Excellence Thesis Award, UKM-YSD Chair

Table 9.7 Awards received by local/International student competition program

Program Name	Participants name	Duration	Remark
2016 Nanotechnol ogy Research & Innovation (PIN)	Ho Kah Chun (UKM)	10 th October 2016	1 st Runner Up in the Master category
APEC-ACABT YES CHalllenge 2017	 Muhammad Syazwan bin Sharani (UKM) Fadil bin Ismail (UKM) Abdullah Amru Indera Lufti (UKM) Shareena Fairuz Abdul Manaf (UKM) Jian Ping Tan (UKM) 	27 th -31 st August 2017	UKM Team won the first and third place for this competition and Mr. Muhammad Syazwan Sharani was chosen as winner for Tomorrow's Leader Award
2017 Olympiad Nanotechnol ogy Malaysia (ONM)	6. Ho Kah Chun (UKM)	9 th -13 th October 2017	Gold award
2018 IEM's Best Research	Ho Kah Chun (UKM)	15 th January 2018	1 st Runner Up in the PhD category

Award on Project Management			
2018 1st International Nanotechnol ogy Olympiad (INO)	Ho Kah Chun (UKM)	10 ^{th-} 17 th April 2018	Gold award
APEC-ACABT YES Challenge 2018	 Shalini Narayanan (UKM) Safa Senan Mahmod (UKM) 	28 th -30 th August 2018	UKM Team won the first place for this competition and Miss Shalini Narayanan was chosen as winner for Tomorrow's Leader Award
APEC-ACABT YES Challenge 2019	 Loo Bing Qin (UKM) Teo Jia Le (UKM) Cheah Ching Wei (UKM) 	6 th -8 th September 2019	UKM Team won the first place for this competition
KDU Green Challenge 2019	 Shalini Narayanan Rozieffa Roslan Tiang Ming Foong (UKM) 	18 th September 2019	UKM team won the 2 nd place for this competition