Jabatan Mikrobiologi & Imunologi Perubatan

 Fakulti Perubatan UKM

Department Background

Welcome to the website of the Department of Medical Microbiology & Immunology. This department is located at the Faculty of Medicine UKM, situated on the 16th floor, Preclinical Building, Jalan Yaacob Latif, Cheras. This department has 7 management units (Administrative Unit, Clinical Services Unit, Research Unit, Undergraduate Unit, Graduate Unit, Laboratory Management Unit and Practical Management Unit) and consists of 14 lecturers, 2 scientific officers,  6 medical laboratory technologists, and 3 support staff.

See >> department organisation chart or >> department management chart

The members of this department are actively involved in the teaching activities of undergraduate and graduate students, clinical and laboratory diagnostic services and research activities at the Faculty of Medicine UKM. Clinical and laboratory diagnostic service tasks are carried out in the Microbiology Cluster laboratory, under the Department of Diagnostic Laboratory Services (JPMD), located at Hospital Canselor Tuanku Muhriz, situated on the basement level of the Komplex Pendidikan Canselor Tuanku Jaafar building. In addition, our department offers Helicobacter pylori culture and susceptibility testing service, which is open to all patients of HCTM and outside hospitals/laboratories. Research activities are carried out in the research laboratory located on the 10th floor of the Preclinical Building, Faculty of Medicine UKM.