UKM-YSD Chair for Sustainability

 Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia



UKM-YSD Chair for Sustainability Launch 2021

Date        : THURSDAY, 11 MARCH 2021,

Time       : 2.00 PM

Venue      : Senate Room, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)

Special Guest : 

  1. Y.A.M Tunku Tan Sri Imran Ibni Almarhum Tuanku Jaáfar, (Pengerusi Yayasan Sime Darby)
  2. YAB Khairil Jamaludin ( Science, Technology, and Innovation Minister) - Virtual
  3. YBh. Prof. Dato’ Ts. Dr. Mohd Ekhwan Hj. Toriman (Naib Canselor, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia)
  4. YBhg. Prof. Dato’ Dr. Imran Ho Abdullah (Timbalan Naib Canselor, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia)
  5. YBrs. Dr. Hajah Yatela Zainal Abidin (Ketua Pegawai Eksekutif, Yayasan Sime Darby)

Majlis Pelancaran Kursi Kelestarian UKM YSD

UKM and YSD have worked hand in hand for a long time. When we began our partnership more than 10 years ago, we hardly spoke the same language, as we represent different sections of society with dissimilar backgrounds. However, because we share the same vision, objectives and work ethics; we have grown together with important paradigm shifts and changed mindsets, towards achieving sustainable outcomes and impact as a team. The road has been bumpy, but I am proud to say that both the previous Chairs have contributed significantly towards knowledge on sustainable practices for the industry and government, and they have also made a real difference in local communities. As we have learnt from all our past challenges, I am confident that the new UKM- YSD Chair for Sustainability will be smoothly run and achieve its objectives.



YB Khairy Jamaluddin Launch the UKM-YSD Chair for Sustainability

Today, we celebrate the establishment of a new Chair in Science, Technology and Innovation (STI). It will continue to work for more than a decade in between Yayasan Sime Darby (YSD) and Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) through 2 previous chair, the Zero Waste Technology Chair and the Climate Change Chair.

The establishment of the UKM-YSD Chair for Sustainability was in line with the six strategic thrusts outlined in the National Policy on Science, Technology and Innovation 2021-2030 (DSTIN 2030) included advancing scientific and social research; advancing scientific and social research, development, and commercialisation; developing, harnessing, and intensifying talent; energising industries; transforming science, technology, and innovation (STI) governance; promoting and sensitising STI, and enhancing strategic international alliances. DSTIN 2030 also emphasises on the importance of networking and cooperation among the public sector, private sector, industries, and the community to stimulate the country's STI-based economic growth.

YB Khairy Jamaluddin ( Science, Technology, and Innovation Minister)