Institute of Malaysian and International Studies



The Pok Rafeah Chair

The Pok Rafeah Chair in International Studies is the chair of excellence in International Studies. Funded by the Pok Rafeah Foundation, the Chair founded in 1996, is held by a leading scholar in the field of globalisation studies. The Chair provides an opportunity for IKMAS to expand its scope of research into new areas as well as widen its network to collaborate with scholars of international standing.

The first holder of the Chair was Professor James H. Mittelman (1997-1999), a professor in international relations from the American University, Washington, DC.

The second, Professor Yoshihara Kunio, a former professor of development economics from the Centre for Southeast Asian Studies, Kyoto University, Tokyo was at IKMAS in 2001, and here again in 2002 for a few months. His research area is globalisation and national identity.

The third holder was Professor Dr. Joan M. Nelson (October 2006-May 2007), a Scholar in Residence at the School of International Service, American University and Senior Scholar at theWoodrow Wilson International Center of the Smithsonian Institution. Her primary research interests are the politics of social and economy reforms and the interactions between market-oriented reforms and democratization in developing Countries.

The fourth holder was Professor Dr. Anthony Milner (2010-2011), former Dean of Asian Studies and Basham Professor of Asian History at Australian National University.

Prof. Jan Nederveen Pieterse (2014-2015) was the fifth holder, a scholar in Mellichamp Professor of Global Studies and Sociology University of California, Santa Barbara

Emeritus Prof. Dr. Hans-Dieter Evers was the sixth holder, an emeritus university professor of development planning, University of Bielefeld and senior fellow, Center for Development Research (ZEF), University of Bonn.

Professor Paul Evans is currently the seventh holder Pok Rafeah Chair for the 2022 academic year. Professor Evans is currently a professor at the School of Public Policy and Global Affairs, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada.

IKMAS will, from time to time, continue to appoint eminent scholars to the Chair for a minimum period of one-year.