UKM-Ministry of National Unity MoU Signing Ceremony, 23 July 2020

On Thursday 23 July 2020, a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) signing ceremony between the Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia and Ministry of National Unity was held at the Senate Room, Chancellery Building, UKM Bangi. The MoU was signed by UKM Vice-Chancellor Prof. Dato’ Ir. Dr. Mohd. Hamdi Abd Shukor and National Unity Minister Datuk Halimah Mohamad Sadique for the Ministry of National Unity, and was witnessed by KITA Founding Director Distinguished Prof. Datuk Dr. Shamsul Amri Baharuddin.

The MoU centered on the collaboration between the Ministry of National Unity with UKM through the Institute of Ethnic Studies’ (KITA) contribution in developing four major documents on national unity: the National Unity Index (Indeks Perpaduan Nasional, IPNas), National Unity Action Plan (Pelan Tindakan Perpaduan Negara, PTPN), National Principles for School Education (Pendidikan Rukun Negara berteraskan Rukun Perpaduan) and National Integration Research and the improvement of the Training Institute (Institut Kajian dan Latihan Integrasi Nasional, IKLIN).