Four New Portfolios For 2015/2016 Students Reps

By Asmahanim Amir
Pix Abdul Raai Osman

BANGI, 15 Oct 2015 – Four new portfolios have been introduced by the Students Representatives Council (MPP) Cabinet of the National University of Malaysia (UKM) for the 2015/2016 session.

That portfolios are ; Vice President 1, Vice President 2, Vice President 3 and Vice President 4.

The portfolio of Vice President 1,  is responsible for coordinating activities of registered clubs and assisting faculty associations while Vice President 2 was  created for monitoring the needs of the states’ students associations.

Vice President 3, in turn, is responsible for monitoring the status quo of inter-ethnic unity in UKM and the registered Chinese and Indian associations while Vice President 4 is allocated for the Cheras and Kuala Lumpur campus for formulating development and meeting the needs of the students.

MPP President, Muhammad Farhan Khairuddin said the four portfolios were created to boost unity among the students in ensuring that family spirit should be nurtured among UKM students.

“This leadership is new and ready to bring bigger changes for students and institutions that build on the mission and vision of the University.

“Each vote given by students will translate to one major change which will be highlighted later,” he said while speaking at a ceremony of presentation of certificates to the students representatives for the 2015/2016 session, here on October 6th.

He also explained that the new MPP in planning to bring students of UKM to contribute directly to development, such as the opening of Parliament for the UKM students and launching a student complaints page, namely e-ADU.

“It is to for the students to be more inclusive and to give their views and opinions directly without restriction in developing UKM together with MPP and university administration,” he said.

With the slogan Moving Together To Lead the Varsity’s Vision, a total of 31 MPP members swore an oath before the Vice-Cahncellor, Prof Datuk Dr Noor Azlan Ghazali and the top management of UKM, to pledge commitment in helping the University’s leadership in helming the direction of UKM students.

The MPP Cabinet consists of, among others, Muhammad Farhan a President, Ikhwan A’zim Ishak as a Vice President 1, Mohd Fikri Mohd Jimat (Secretary-General), Anis Syazwani Abd Mubin (Treasurer-General) and Zainal Asnawi Asyraf Mohd Ibrahim as the Speaker.

Present at the ceremony were all the Deputy Vice-Chancellors respectively;  Students and Alumni Affairs, Prof Datin Noor Aziah Mohd Awal, Academic and International Affairs, Prof Dato’ Ir Dr Riza Atiq Abdullah O.K Rahmat, Research and Innovation, Prof Dato’ Dr Mazlin Mokhtar and Industry and Community Partnership, Prof Dr Imran Ho Abdullah.ukmnewsportal-eg