Pro Aspirasi Wins 2015/2016 UKM Student Elections

Pix Abdul Raai Osman, Ikhwan Hashim, Izwan Azman

BANGI, 17 Sept 2015 – The Pro Aspirasi which fielded 31 candidates in the Student Representatives Council (MPP) elections for the 2015/2016 session had won handsomely, acquiring 26 seats including one  unopposed.

The seat unopposed was F3.17 Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment.

In the elections held on September 15, nine of the 10 General Seats being contested were won by Pro Aspirasi while one seat went to the Gabungan Mahasiswa party, or Students Federation.

Pro Aspirasi claimed victory in 17 of the 21 Faculty seats contested, while the rest were won by Gabungan Mahasiswa.

The MPP elections witnessed 64 candidates standing in 31 seats, or 10 General Seats and 21 Faculty Seats.

A survey by the UKM News Portal around the campus found that the election process from 8 AM to 5 PM went off without a hitch.

Results were announced at  12.30 AM by Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Students and Alumni Affairs), Prof Datin Noor Aziah Mohd Awal.

Vice-Chancellor Prof Datuk Dr Noor Azlan Ghazali and the other Deputy Vice-Chancellors also witnessed the event.ukmnewsportal-eg