UKM ‘A’ 2020 Criket Champions Again

UKM ‘A’ 2020 Criket Champions Again.jpg1By Saiful Bahri Kamaruddin
Pix Shaiddan Saidi

KLANG, SELANGOR, 28 March 2015 – The National University of Malaysia (UKM) ‘A’ defended their 2015 Twenty20 cricket championship by beating rivals UKM ‘B’ by 52 runs in the finals  Bayuemas Oval here today.

In what seemed like a repeat of last year’s final UKM ‘A’ displayed its batting prowess throughout the session. This champions gathered 147 runs in 19.5 overs, while UKM ‘B’ only managed 95s

Batsman Faizal Abu Hassan proved to be the best player in which his batting skills were seen throughout the tournament.

For second runners’ up The International Islamic University (UUI) subdued  Asia Pacific University ‘B’ by 65s.

A total of seven local universities competed in the annual event that is organised by UKM, arguably the country’s best cricketing university and the centre of the Malay Malaysian Cricket Association.


Third Place

IIU beat Asia Pacific University ‘B’ by 65 runs.

IIU 157-8 for 20 overs  Mohammad Qassim 45, Mahmudur Rahman 30.  Rezwanur Rahman 3-34, Javeed Mohammed 2-22.

Asia Pacific University ‘B’ 92 runs for 17 overs. Hussain Nisthar 22, Nik Nazran Sufri Anuay 21 Mohammed Aktaruzzaman 4-20. Hassan Ali Khan 3-9.

Best player: Mohammad Qassim (IIU).

Final Round

UKM ‘A’ beat UKM ‘B’ by 52 runs.

UKM ‘A’ 147 for 19.5 overs; Faizal Abu Hassan 46, Adam Zulkifli 35, Faruq Hakimin 34. Nik Azmi Nabil Safwan Anuay 5-27, Mahadi Muda 3-31.

UKM ‘B’ 95-9 for 20 overs Fitr Sham 34, Hameedur Rahman 14. Faruq  Hakimin Azmi 2-18,. Ashraf Naim M. Sham 2-19.

Best player final round: Faizal Abu Hassan (UKM ‘A’).

Best overall player : Faizal Abu Hassan (UKM ‘A’).