UKM Make Partnership with Aberystwyth University

By Asmahanim Amir
Pictures by Shahiddan Saidi

BANGI, December 5, 2018 – Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) is the first Malaysian public university to make collaboration with Aberystwyth University, Wales, United Kingdom.

Aberystwyth University is the first University College in Wales established in 1872. The Vice Chancellor of Aberystwyth University, Prof. Elizabeth Treasure said that the collaboration between these two research-lead universities has the common mission to develop, deliver research and respond to the global challenges of the 21st century.

“I hope in that new partnership will lead to meaningful collaboration between both universities, so the students can get benefit from the range of expertise and the different perspectives of our respective academic can break into their field of study closer,” she added at the Signing of Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between UKM and Aberystwyth University, recently.

The MoU was signed in conjunction with the 3rd Chancellor Tuanku Muhriz Lecture.

“It brings great significance from this MoU, which places UKM as the key to be the suitable partner around universities in South East Asia. We look forward to the success and the long-term partnership,” she highlighted.

Meanwhile, UKM Vice Chancellor, Prof. Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Dr. Noor Azlan Ghazali said UKM is very lucky to be able to collaborate with a university that is almost 150 years old and has extensive experience in teaching and research.

“As a national university with global outreach, I believe this initiative shall open windows to more areas in the future, particularly with Aberystwyth University as well as with their networks especially in the UK,” he said.

The engagement with this MOU is to explore collaborations on student exchange and mobility; research and publications; teaching and learning and others. Among the disciplines covered are on law, biotechnology, science and technology as well as artificial intelligence.

This endeavour shall begin with our Faculty of Law, Faculty of Science & Technology, Faculty of Technology and Information Science and Institute of Systems Biology.