UKM Again Dominates Varsity Cricket Championship

THURSDAY, 30 JANUARY 2014 00:00

By Shahfizal Musa
Pix Shahiddan Saidi

KLANG, 26 Jan 2014 – The National University of Malaysia (UKM) Cricket teams dominated the Inter Varsity Twenty20 Cricket Championship for the Minister of Education trophy which ended at the Bayuemas Oval here today.

Such is its domination in the championship that both its teams which competed in the championship entered the final today with its team A beating team B by 8 wickets. Third place went to The International Islamic University (UIA) after beating The Asia Pacific University (APU).

The UKM cricket teams have won the championship for 6 years in a row. This year things are even better when both the UKM teams met in the final game.

Mohd Faizal Abu Hassan from the A team was judged the best player in the final game while another team A player, Mohd Fitri Makram Rosdi walked away as the best player of the championship.

UKM Vice Chancellor Prof Datuk Dr Noor Azlan Ghazali gave away the championship trophy and prizes. Deputy Vice Chancellors of UKM, representative from the Malay Cricket Association and the Ministry of Education were present to witness the final match and prize giving ceremony.