Dazzling Performances At Royal Concert 2013

THURSDAY, 28 FEBRUARY 2013 00:00

By Shahfizal Musa
Pix Shahiddan Saidi & Danial Norizzat Ashari

BANGI, 21 Feb 2012 – The glittering UKM Royal Concert held at the Tun Abdul Razak Hall (Dectar) in the campus here tonight to celebrate the 65th birthday of the Chancellor of The National  University of Malaysia, Tuanku Muhriz Ibni Almarhum Tuanku Munawir was filled with captivating performances from start to end.

Among the memorable presentations were the piano performances by Tuanku Muhriz’s son, Tunku Zain Al-‘Abdin and Chong Yew Boon playing a rendition of Tchaikovsky’s Langer, on the same piano to pull off the grand concerto.

Another impressive rendition is by PERMATAPintar students who performed a combination of flute and piano instrumental of M Sani and P Ramlee’s classic ‘Engkau Laksana Bulan’ and Yeh Lai Sang (Fragrance of the Night).

Coming from PERMATAPintar, the school for gifted children, they impressed the audience proving that they are not just gifted with extraordinary intelligence but also blessed with musical talent.

Other performances were by UKM staff, students and guest artists.

The Tengku Ampuan Besar, Tuanku Aishah Rohani binti Almahrum Tengku Besar Mahmud was in attendance. Tuanku Muhriz who is also the Yang di-Pertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan Darul Khusus, was presented with a birthday cake at the function.

Prior to the performances, Vice-Chancellor, Prof Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Dr Sharifah Hapsah Syed Hasan Shahabudin rendered her welcoming speech with a seloka (poem) of the achievements of the university and pantuns.

UKM’s Orchestra conducted by renowned national music virtuoso, Dato’ Dr Johari Salleh and its conductor, Mohamad Adzan Mohamad Fadzil entertained the audience during the interval.

The concert went off like clockwork thanks to the precision timing ensured by the coordination of the 14 committees working together in synergy to pull off an event that is truly fit for Royalty.

Present at the Royal gala were members of the Royal court, top officials of the University, academicians and students.