Malaysia’s Top Mountain Biker Won UKM Mountain Bike Charity Challenge

THURSDAY, 22 MAY 2014 11:23

By Athirah Abdul Aziz
Pix Ikhwan Hashim

BANGI, 22 May 2014 – Malaysia’s number one mountain bike rider Ahmad Fauzan Ahmad Lutfi won the Men’s Open category in the UKM Mountain Bike Charity Challenge 2014 here last Sunday May 11.

He had earlier won second place at the Setia Alam Eco Challenge Championship and had also had participated in the Le Tour de Langkawi since 2005 with the national team.

The ‘Pilot 1’ rider for the para-cycling national team who will be participating in this year’s Asia Games and the Commonwealth Games, Razif Salleh was second.

The third, fourth and fifth places for the Men’s open category went to Salahuddin Mat Saman, Hakimi Han and Mohd Zukri bin Tahir.

A total of 89 bikers took part in the challenge which include Junior, Senior Veteran, Junior Veteran for both men and women. The race was organized by the Master’s degree in sports management students (FPEND, UKM).

Director of the programme Mohd Noor Ridhwan bin Dollah said the Challenge was to collect funds for the Hulu Langat Association for the Aged, the Autism Centre and the UKM Sports Students Fund.

The race started and finished at the open space in front of Dewan Gemilang, UKM. The competition was sponsored by the Malaysian National Cycling Federation, Viewnet Group, Ciclista, Endurace, Gatorade and Ameer Ali restaurant.

Following is the list of winners:

Men open

First: Ahmad Fauzan Ahmad Lutfi

Second: Razif bin Saleh

Third: Salahuddin Mat Saman

Fourth: Hakimi Han

Fifth: Mohd Zukri bin Tahir

Women Open

First: Shamsufazura Samsudin

Second: Noor Azian Maslin Sazali

Third: Nurul Akhmar Abd Latib

Fourth: Nurul Nas Raihan Jasmi

Fifth: Nur Aina Ayu Roslan and Nur Farahin Nor Hasmat

Men Junior

First: Muhd Anas Faizal bin Mohd Amair

Second: Izzat Haiqal Zamarul Hisham

Third: Muhd Afiq Zamri

Senior Veteran

First: Muhd Razali

Second: Rosley Bin Dolmat

Third: Rafi Ravi

Junior Veteran

First: Mohamad Zukri bin Tahir

Second: Shaiful Ahmad

Third: Zamzi bin Mohamad