UKM Wheel Chair Car Design Won AMDC Award

THURSDAY, 16 FEBRUARY 2012 09:29

kerusi 1

By Shahfizal Musa
Pix by Ahmad Shahiddan Saidi

SHAH ALAM, 14 Feb. 2011 –A three dimensional design of a wheel chair car won The National University of Malaysia (UKM) the Autodesk Malaysia Design Competition 2011 (AMDC) at the Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah Polytechnic here today.

The UKM team from the Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment was crowned the winner for their concept car nicknamed Car4U. The design was of a car complete with a ramp for a wheelchair to enter from the rear.

The car is also designed to be powered by solar energy and equipped with various safety features. It won RM4500 in cash.

The design was also awarded first prize in the WHIZZ Advanced Manufacturing and Product Category for which the team received another RM4500.

The Car4U team consisted of Muhammad Syafiq Megat Jiwa, Muhammad Syakir Zahar Azlan and Muhammad Waseem Abdullah with Mohd Faizal Mat Tahir, a faculty staff member as Advisor.

Another UKM team which designed, the solar golf converter, a solar powered buggy, was awarded the 2nd prize in WHIZZ Advanced Manufacturing and Product Category. It received RM3000.

The solar converter team comprised Neo Rong Gen, Wee San Yee and Chin Zu Yie and headed by Associate Professor Dr Nowshad Amin.

Car4U provides a creative solution that can overcome some of the challenges faced by the disabled and may become a creative solution that could eliminate the boundaries between the disabled and others in the future.

The awards were presented by Higher Education Minister, Dato’ Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin. The Competition was jointly organised by Prestariang Systems Sdn Bhd and Ministry of Higher Education (MOHE).

Education institutions with the most number of entries were also given awards. Universiti Teknologi Malaysia with 15 entries was given the first prize with Politeknik Merlimau (9 entries) second and Community College Kuala Langat (7 entries) placed third.

UKM Vice Chancellor,  Prof Tan Sri Dato’ Wira Dr Sharifah Hapsah Shahabudin; Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment UKM, Prof Ir Dr Mohd Marzuki Mustafa and representatives from various Institutions of Higher Learning, MOHE and Prestariang Sdn Bhd were present at the prize giving ceremony.