Institute of Microengineering and Nanoelectronics

 Institute of Microengineering and Nanoelectronics

Microelectronics Packaging and Materials (MIPAC)


The history for advanced semiconductor packaging research group started since year 2003. The team was lead by Assoc. Prof. Ibrahim Ahmad by doing a research on Under Bump Metallurgy (UBM). This research project was the first collaboration within UKM and On Semiconductor Sdn. Bhd. It was funded by MOSTI based on EA grant in which the total are more than RM 200K. In the end of year 2004, the research group for semiconductor packaging in Malaysia has received an enermous research grant under RM-8 which is the grand total more than RM 26 million. There are several government institutions that involved in this research group which are Universiti Malaya, SIRIM Berhad and Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia as the lead institution in bringing up all the activities under this research and development programme. RM 13 million out from the grand total research grant are being put under UKM. This includes with advanced equipment purchasing and salary for contract staff and graduate researcher and also consultation fees for the industrial expert.

For now, all the researcher from UKM are trying to centralized the research activities by build up a new building in purpose for extra laboratory space, programme monitoringĀ  and graduate research assistant logistics. More than RM 7 million has been spent in purchasing the equipment and simulation software. All the purchased equipment and simulation software already being centralized under the laboratory. In early of year 2007, this group was recognized as Advanced Semiconductor Packaging (ASPAC) Research Group by Faculty of Engineering in UKM. This group already received more than RM30K research grant under research university budget in order to continue the research and development programme for advanced semiconductor packaging in UKM

Group Leader

Prof. Dr. Azman Jalar (Microelectronics materials, Micropackaging)

Group Members

Assoc. Group Members

  • Prof. Dr. Abdul Razak Daud (Metallurgy & Corrosion)
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr. Muhammad Azmi Abdul Hamid (Semiconductor)
  • DR. ROSLINDA SHAMSUDIN (Materials science, Ceramic materials & metal composite)
  • Dr Norinsan kamil Othman (High temperature materials and corrosion engineering)
  • Dr Irman Abd Rahman (Radiation biophysics, radiation and materials)
Translate »