Jabatan Anatomi Fakulti Perubatan

 Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia


History of establishment

The Anatomy Department is one of the earliest pre-clinical departments established in 1973 in line with the establishment of the Faculty of Medicine. The original location was at the Kuala Lumpur Campus located on Jalan Raja Muda Abdul Aziz, Kuala Lumpur. In 2014, the department moved to a new location along with other pre-clinical departments in the Pre-Clinical Building next to the Chancellor Tuanku Muhriz Hospital, UKM Medical Center, Cheras, Kuala Lumpur. The Department of Anatomy occupies several floors of this building with its main office on the 18th, while the research lab is on the 9th floor. Meanwhile, the dissection hall is on the 1st floor and the anatomy museum on the 3rd floor.


As of 2019, the department has a staff of 26 including 10 full-time Academic Staff, 7 Medical Laboratory Technicians, 3 Administrative Staff and 6 Health Care Assistants. The Department of Anatomy is involved in the teaching of various postgraduate and postgraduate courses. These include Medical, Dental, and Nursing degrees. In addition, the department also runs the Anatomy postgraduate program and is involved in several other graduate programs.

In addition to teaching and learning activities, the department is also active in research areas related to human morphology, in addition to specialized research in the field of arthritis, bone and osteoporosis metabolism, wound healing, cell and tissue culture, stress enzymes and even neuroscience.

The teaching and research conducted in the department is assisted by facilities such as the Dissection Hall, numerous collections of specimens at the Anatomy Museum, state of-the-art equipment in the Research and Histological Laboratory as well as computer facilities.