Research Center for History, Politics and International Affairs




The History Programme was established as a pioneer department of the newly-founded Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) on 18 May 1970. Initially, the department’s main focus was training secondary school history teachers on the importance of Malaysian History.

Since the restructuring of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities (FSSK) in 2001, the History Department was reconstructed as a programme under the School of History, Politics and Strategy.

The History Programme remains a popular choice within the faculty, attracting among the highest number of students. Today, the programme not only produces history school teachers but graduates with an all-rounded education.

Our graduates are equipped with a sound knowledge of history, skilled in archival research and the necessary work skills needed in both the public and private sectors. Among some of the career options of our graduates include:- teachers, academic librarians, archivist, civil service administrators, museum/gallery conservators, research officers and journalists.

The History Programme offers every level of studies from undergraduate, Bachelor of Arts (B.A) to post graduate studies, comprising of Master of Arts (M.A) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D) degrees. Our undergraduate students are mainly Malaysians, but among the post graduates – besides local students, there is a diverse international student population from Singapore, Brunei, Indonesia and the Middle East.

From our initial focus on Malaysian History in the 1970s, today our diversified history modules include historiography, regional (Asia, Europe and North America), political, administrative, economic, cultural and environmental history. [For a more detailed list of research areas, please click on the respective lecturers’ names below]

Among the scholars that have served and contributed to the prestige of this programme included:- Prof. Emeritus Datuk Paduka Dr. Nik Anuar Nik Mahmud, Prof. Emeritus Datuk Dr. Nik Hassan Shuhaimi Nik Abd. Rahman, Prof. Datuk Zainal Abidin Abdul Wahid, Prof. Datin Dr. Kobkua Suwannathat-Pian, Associate Professor Dr. Oong Hak Ching and Assoc. Prof. Dr. Pamela Sodhy.

Currently, the Programme includes the following academics:

Associate Professor Dr. Azlizan Mat Enh

Dr. Al-Amril Othman

Dr. Suffian Mansor

Mr. Mohamad Rodzi Razak

Dr. Mohd Shazwan Mokhtar

Dr. Shaiful Shahidan


For further inquiry, contact:

Dr. Suffian Mansor

Head of History Program,

Tel: 03-89213637



Translate »